Celebrating the success of cadet and volunteers

Air Cadets and volunteer staff from across Thames Valley Wing Air Training Corps gathered at RAF Benson for an evening of celebrations during the annual THRIVE awards.

The THRIVE awards were established three years ago to recognise the achievements and successes of the individuals who support the Air Cadets in Berkshire and Oxfordshire. Hosted by RAF Benson and sponsored by five organisations 33 individuals received recognition on the evening for their efforts across several categories.

Attending the night to present the state awards was Commandant Air Cadets, Air Commodore Dawn McCafferty who commented on the fantastic range of achievements made by the cadets and volunteers. Also in the audience was the newly appointed RAF Benson Station Commander, Group Captain Hamish Cormack who also commented on the high value of the Air Cadet Organisation to the RAF and his commitment to maintain close links between the station and the local Squadrons.

The following awards were presented on the night by Air Commodore McCafferty:

Thames Valley Wing Sporting Achievements

Jnr Male Sports Cadet                    Cpl Vazirani, 153 (Slough) Squadron
Jnr Female Sports Cadet               Cpl Marsh, 1861 (Wantage) Squadron
Snr Male Sports Cadet                    Sgt Day, 594 (Thame) Squadron
Snr Female Sports Cadet              Sgt McAleese, 2267 (Brize Norton) Squadron

Commandant Air Cadets Certificate of Good Service

Cadet Warrant Officer Bint                         2410 (Didcot) Squadron
Cadet Warrant Officer Gibson                   2120 (Witney) Squadron
Cadet Warrant Officer Roberts                 2210 (Cowley) Squadron
Cadet Warrant Officer Soar                        2507 (Bicester) Squadron
Cadet Warrant Officer Stanford               2403 (Aldermaston) Squadron
Cadet Flight Sergeant Martin                   1996 (Earley) Squadron
Cadet Sergeant Hall                                     136 (Chipping Norton) Squadron
Cadet Corporal Johnston-Brunn            2211 (Bracknel) Squadron

Commandant Air Cadets Commendation of Meritorious Service

Warrant Officer Pick                                    136 (Chipping Norton) Squadron
Warrant Officer Twigg                                 1116 (Woodley) Squadron
Mr Williams                                                     2403 (Aldermaston) Squadron

Defence Council Letters of Appreciation

Flight Lieutenant (Ret’d) Thorrington RAF VR(T)           966 (Wallingford) Squadron
Mr French                                                                                        Wing Executive Committee

The main THRIVE awards below were kindly supported by a range of sponsors and for each category from all the nominations received three individuals were short listed with the winner announced by the sponsor on the night.

Inspirational Civilian Instructor
Presented by sponsor Squadron Leader (Ret’d) Senft RAFVR(T)

Winner – Civilian Instructor Soar           2507 (Bicester) Squadron
Civilian Instructor Fitt                                    211 (Newbury) Squadron
CI Mrzyglod                                                         594 (Thame) Squadron

Valiant Non-Commissioned Officer
Presented by sponsor AirTanker Services Ltd.

Winner – WO Roberts                               1861 (Wantage) Squadron
Flight Sergeant Fenion                               1460 (Banbury) Squadron
Flight Sergeant Pedge                                2121 (Abingdon) Squadron

Outstanding Junior Officer
Presented by South East Reserve Forces and Cadet Association (SERFCA)

Winner – Flying Officer Preston             1315 (Kidlington)
Pilot Officer Baker                                          153 (Slough) Squadron Squadron
Flight Lieutenant Pye                                    211 (Newbury) Squadron

Unsung Hero
Presented by LSL Solicitors

Winner – Sergeant Wigley                        1861 (Wantage) Squadron
Cadet Flight Sergeant Biddle                     594 (Thame) Squadron
Flight Lieutenant Churnside                      381 (Reading) Squadron

Endeavour Award
Presented by Group Captain Cormack, RAF Benson

Winner – Civilian Instructor Rose          966 (Wallingford) Squadron
Flight Lieutenant Azizian                             2121 (Abingdon) Squadron
Flight Lieutenant Bennett                           155 (Maidenhead) Squadron

Well done to all the above and to the sponsors for their continued support to help make the THRIVE awards available.